WASHINGTON, D.C. – House Majority Whip James E. Clyburn released the following statement regarding Chief Deputy Whips for the 117th Congress:

“I am pleased to announce that Representatives G.K. Butterfield and Jan Schakowsky will serve as Senior Chief Deputy Whips for the 117th Congress. G.K. is rising from his previous role as a Chief Deputy Whip to fill the spot held by the late Representative John Lewis, a longtime Chief Deputy Whip who served since 1991 under numerous Democratic Whips. We will continue to miss John’s steady leadership and guiding hand in the 117th Congress.

“In addition to Jan and G.K., Representatives Henry Cuellar, Sheila Jackson Lee, Dan Kildee, Terri Sewell, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, and Peter Welch will return as Chief Deputy Whips. They will be joined by Representatives Stephanie Murphy and Jimmy Panetta, who are new to the Chief Deputy Whip role.

“I look forward to working with this dynamic and diverse team that represents the breadth of our Caucus. Together, we will work in collaboration with the Biden Administration to further the agenda the House began in the 116th Congress on behalf of the American people.”

List of Chief Deputy Whips for the 117th Congress

Senior Chief Deputy Whips

G.K. Butterfield (NC-01)
Jan Schakowsky (IL-09)

Chief Deputy Whips

Henry Cuellar (TX-28)
Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Dan Kildee (MI-05)
Stephanie Murphy (FL-07)
Jimmy Panetta (CA-20)
Terri Sewell (AL-07)
Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23)
Peter Welch (VT-AL)