Skip to Content

Press Releases

Whip Emmer, Chairman Bost Host Roundtable with Speaker Johnson and Veteran Service Organizations

WASHINGTON – Today, Majority Whip Tom Emmer (R-Minn.) and Veterans’ Affairs Committee Chairman Mike Bost (R-Ill.) hosted a roundtable discussion with Speaker Mike Johnson (R-La.) and Veteran Service Organizations (VSOs). Emmer, Bost, and Johnson affirmed House Republicans’ commitment to supporting our nation’s veterans and their families in a way that best meets their needs as leaders from VSOs outlined their organizations’ top priorities.

“Our nation is indebted to our service members, veterans, and their families,” said Whip Emmer. “This Congress, House Republicans have worked with veteran stakeholders, including VSOs, to pass several key pieces of legislation that best support the veteran community. Our conference has been clear: We will never stop fighting for those who have sacrificed so much for our great country.”

“As Chairman of the House Veterans’ Affairs Committee, I always appreciate hearing from our Veteran Service Organization partners to keep a pulse on what’s important to everyday veterans across the country,” said Chairman Bost. I am grateful to my friends, our Whip Tom Emmer and Speaker Mike Johnson, for hosting this important stakeholder discussion today. We must continue fighting for the men and women who have served and conversations like this help to make that happen. Important work has been done by this majority, and I assure you we will hit the ground running next year to continue delivering for veterans, their families, and their survivors.”

“America owes our veterans a limitless debt of gratitude for their service, and Congress has a moral obligation to pay it down,” said Speaker Johnson. “We are grateful to the many veterans’ service organizations who joined us for this roundtable, and I thank Whip Emmer and Chairman Bost for their efforts to support America’s veterans.”

Whip Emmer, Chairman Bost, and Speaker Johnson were joined by Chief Deputy Whip Guy Reschenthaler (R-Pa.) and Representatives Jack Bergman (R-Mich.), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-Iowa), Gregory F. Murphy (R-N.C.), Scott Franklin (R-Fla.), Derrick Van Orden (R-Wis.), Morgan Luttrell (R-Texas), Keith Self (R-Texas), and Jennifer Kiggans (R-Va.).

VSOs represented include America’s Warrior Partnership, AMVETS, Blinded Veterans Association, Blue Star Families, Disabled American Veterans, Elizabeth Dole Foundation, Enlisted Association of the National Guard of the U.S., Jewish War Veterans of the U.S.A, Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America, Military Officers Association of America, Mission Roll Call, National Association of Atomic Veterans, National Association of State Approving Agencies, Inc., National Defense Committee, National Organization of Veterans’ Advocates, Paralyzed Veterans of America, Student Veterans of America, The American Legion, The National Coalition for Homeless Veterans, Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors, Veterans of Foreign Wars, Vietnam Veterans of America, and Wounded Warrior Project.