

P.O. Box 86 • 408 W 23rd Street • Cheyenne, WY • 82003 (307) 632-5409 • www.wyo-wcca.org

May 6, 2025

Representative Bruce Westerman Chairman, Committee on Natural Resources United States House 1324 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

RE: Support for Subtitle C – Federal Lands (Sections 80301 and 80302) in the House Natural Resources Committee Reconciliation Package

Dear Chairman Westerman,

On behalf of the Wyoming County Commissioners Association (WCCA), I write to express our strong support for Subtitle C – Federal Lands, Sections 80301 and 80302, of the House Natural Resources Committee's reconciliation package. These provisions provide necessary course corrections to flawed land use planning decisions that ignored years of local government input, undermined statutory mandates, and substantially harm the cultural and economic well-being of impacted counties in Wyoming.

Wyoming counties routinely serve as cooperating agencies in the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) process, providing special expertise on social, cultural, historical, economic, and other aspects of proposed planning efforts and actions. Due to the significant impacts that resource management plans have on Wyoming counties, Wyoming Statute § 18-3-504(v) expressly provides that county commissioners have special expertise in NEPA and federal land planning, implementation and management actions.

Wyoming counties were thoroughly involved with both the Rock Springs and Buffalo Resource Management Plans (RMPs) serving as cooperating agencies, submitting comments, providing formal protests, and assisting with the governor's consistency reviews. Beyond the efforts of county commissioners in the NEPA process, counties and our association actively participated in the Governor's Rock Springs RMP Task Force.

Section 80301 directs the Secretary of the Interior to not implement, administer, or enforce the final Record of Decision for the Rock Springs RMP, a document that failed to reflect fifteen years of engagement by counties as cooperating agencies. Despite extensive participation, the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) moved forward with a final RMP that disregarded local land policies and jeopardizes our multiple-use and sustained yield traditions. By the RMP implementation, and effectively returning to pre-existing management, this allows these counties

and the BLM to recommit to working together on a plan that better reflects the needs of the resources and the communities that are connected to them.

Similarly, Section 80302 directs the Secretary of the Interior to not implement, administer, or enforce the final Record of Decision (ROD) for the Buffalo Field Office RMP. This direction reinforces the importance of implementing previously approved RMPs until new plans can be completed through lawful, cooperative, and science-based processes. These prior plans are more closely aligned with county-adopted land use policies and the economic and conservation priorities of our communities. The Powder River Basin, primarily in Campbell, Converse, and Johnson Counties, supplies nearly half of the nation's thermal coal and remains an immense resource for traditional and alternative coal uses. These counties and others depend on federal mineral royalties, severance taxes, and ad valorem taxes to fund schools, hospitals, roads, and emergency services.

Wyoming counties have long supported homegrown conservation efforts that balance natural resource protection with public access, grazing, energy development, and recreation. The current RODs in these RMPs disregarded that balance and threaten the economic foundations of our communities.

We urge the Committee to move Subtitle C Sections 80301 and 80302 forward as a vital step toward restoring transparency, legal compliance, and local accountability in public land management. We deeply appreciate your commitment to defending the interests of rural communities and ensuring federal agencies uphold their statutory responsibilities.

Sincerely,

Lloyd Thiel, Chairman; Agriculture, Water, State and Public Lands Committee

Wyoming County Commissioners Association

Hoyd Z Thu

Park County Commissioner

Terrence D. Wolf, Chairman; Energy and Environment Committee

Wyoming County Commissioners Association

Washakie County Commissioner

Terrence D. Hoff