WASHINGTON, DC-House Majority Whip James E. Clyburn today released the following statement congratulating Roslyn Brock on her election as the new chair of the NAACP:

“I extend my heartfelt congratulations to Ms. Roslyn Brock on her election to the chairmanship of the NAACP. She becomes the fourth woman to chair the NAACP’s board of directors and is the youngest chairperson in the organization’s 100 year history.

“Ms. Brock has had an impressive career in civil rights activism. She began her association with the NAACP 25 years ago and has served the organization in a number of capacities ever since. At the time of her election she was serving as the NAACP’s Vice-Chair.  She currently is the head of advocacy at Bon Secours Health Systems.

“It is appropriate that Ms. Brock is now tasked with shepherding this venerable civil rights organization into its second century. I wish her the best of luck and Godspeed as she takes on this new challenge.”